~ Sunday 4:00-6:00pm, Thursday 6:30-8:30pm

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra, Part II

Ongoing

Gen Kelsang Rinzin

Taught by Gen Kelsang Rinzin

Course Descriptions

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra, Part II

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra, Part II

Sunday 4:00-6:00pm
Thursday 6:30-8:30pm

This is an ideal opportunity to gain a well-rounded understanding of the Buddhist path. In this part of The New Heart of Wisdom, we will study the sequence of meditations on the whole path to enlightenment in the order in which they are meant to be practiced!

The very heart of Buddha's teachings are the Perfection of Wisdom Sutras. Study together Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso's commentary to the Heart Sutra, also known as the Essence of Wisdom Sutra. In Part II of The New Heart of Wisdom, we will study the hidden meaning of the Heart Sutra, which is the stages of the path to enlightenment!

Those who wish to engage in this program should begin by consistently attending the drop-in classes on Wednesday or Sunday. If this is not possible, then you may wish to discuss with Gen Rinzin.

Foundation Program is a study and meditation program specially designed to help us take the teachings deep into our heart--to increase our Dharma experience and wisdom. Students undertake to read the material before class. Then Gen Rinzin gives the oral transmission of the text and additional commentary. We then discuss and decide how to practice the meaning until the next class. Then, to start the next class, we meditate on what we've studied and practiced. All together, we study, listen, discuss, practice, and finally meditate on the teachings. Through this we can expect to gain practical understanding and experience of Buddha's teachings.

Class schedule
Thu, Aug 22

Preliminary Explanation, 107-113

Sun, Aug 25

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Thu, Aug 29

Arya Asanga, 113-117

Sun, Sep 1

NO CLASS: Labor Day Weekend

Thu, Sep 5

The preciousness of our human life

Sun, Sep 8

What does our death mean?

Thu, Sep 12

The dangers of lower rebirth

Sun, Sep 15

Group discussion

Thu, Sep 19

NO CLASS - Festival Prep and then Festival

.

Thu, Oct 10

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Sun, Oct 13

Going for Refuge

Thu, Oct 17

What is karma?

Sun, Oct 20

What we should know

Thu, Oct 24

What we should know, continued

Sun, Oct 27

What we should abandon

Thu, Oct 31

Group discussion

.

Sun, Nov 3

What we should practice

Thu, Nov 7

What we should attain

Sun, Nov 10

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Thu, Nov 14

Twelve sources

Sun, Nov 17

Eighteen elements

Thu, Nov 21

Twelve dependent-related links

Sun, Nov 24

Group discussion

Thu, Nov 28

Thanksgiving Potluck & Video of the Life of Buddha

Sun, Dec 1

No Class: Mountain Retreat

.

Thu, Dec 5

Twelve dependent-related links, continued

Sun, Dec 8

Training in affectionate love

Thu, Dec 12

The kindness of living beings

Sun, Dec 15

Equalizing self and others

Thu, Dec 19

Group Discussion

.

Sun, Jan 5

Contemplating the disadvantages of self-cherishing

Thu, Jan 9

Contemplating the advantages of cherishing others

Sun, Jan 12

Training in wishing love

Thu, Jan 16

Training in universal compassion

Sun, Jan 19

Training in actual bodhichitta

Thu, Jan 23

Group Discussion

.

Sun, Jan 26

Training in the six perfections

Thu, Jan 30

Training in taking in conjunction with the six perfections

Sun, Feb 2

Training in giving in conjunction with the six perfections

Thu, Feb 6

The Yoga of Great Mother Prajnaparamita, p.275-7, 289-291

Sun, Feb 9

The Yoga of Great Mother Prajnaparamita, pp. 291-295

Thu, Feb 13

The Yoga of Great Mother Prajnaparamita, pp. 295-300

Sun, Feb 16

Group Discussion

Thu, Feb 20

Review class

Sun, Feb 23

Review class

Thu, Feb 27

Review class

Sun, Mar 2

Exam, 4:00 to 7:00 pm


Cost and Registration

To register, please see Tim Salemno or email him at info@meditateinfortcollins.org

Cost for Foundation Program is to be a Supporting Member, which is $60/month, and includes half-price or free access to all events at Heruka Buddhist Center, see the Supporting Member page for details.

If you would like to pay you dues here, you may.

Foundation Program is also available via correspondence, for those who live at a distance or would have other obstacles to attending. Please email info@meditateinfortcollins.org for details.

  Quantity:

Names of attendees:

(other notes are OK as well)


Credit/debit cards work too!


Location ~ Fort Collins  

Heruka Buddhist Center

149 W Harvard St, Suite 102
Fort Collins, CO 80525

Tips on getting here

We are just off of College Ave. Harvard is two lights north of the mall, or the first light south of Drake. Go west one block to McClelland, turn south, and then immediately turn into the parking lot.

NOTE: Parking is on the south side of the building, and entrance is not from Harvard St., but McClelland Dr.



Fort Collins ~ Heruka Buddhist Center