Gen Kelsang Rinzin

Taught by Gen Kelsang Rinzin

Course Descriptions

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra

Sunday 4:00-6:00pm
Thursday 6:30-8:30pm

Study The New Heart of Wisdom on Foundation Program!

  • Understand the relationship between our mind and our world
  • A special method for overcoming difficulties in daily life
  • Removing obstacles to realizing our full potential

The very heart of Buddha's teachings are the Perfection of Wisdom Sutras. Study together Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso's commentary to the Heart Sutra, also known as the Essence of Wisdom Sutra.

Those who wish to engage in this program should begin by consistently attending the drop-in classes on Wednesday or Sunday. If this is not possible, then you may wish to discuss with Gen Rinzin.

Foundation Program is a study and meditation program specially designed to help us take the teachings deep into our heart--to increase our Dharma experience and wisdom. Students undertake to read the material before class. Then Gen Rinzin gives the oral transmission of the text and additional commentary. We then discuss and decide how to practice the meaning until the next class. Then, to start the next class, we meditate on what we've studied and practiced. All together, we study, listen, discuss, practice, and finally meditate on the teachings. Through this we can expect to gain practical understanding and experience of Buddha's teachings.

Class schedule
Sun, Feb 17

1-3, 259-260

Thu, Feb 21

260-266

Sun, Feb 24

266-270

Thu, Feb 28

270-272, 7-8

Sun, Mar 3

8-19

Thu, Mar 7

19-23

Sun, Mar 10

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Thu, Mar 14

Group discussion
1-23, 259-272

Sun, Mar 17

23-27

Thu, Mar 21

Life of Buddha Video Night

Sun, Mar 24

NO CLASS: Prep for empowerment

Thu, Mar 28

NO CLASS: Prep for empowerment

Sun, Mar 31

NO CLASS: Amitayus retreat

Thu, Apr 4

27-32

Sun, Apr 7

32-40

Thu, Apr 11

40-43

Sun, Apr 14

43-47

Thu, Apr 18

Group discussion
23-47

Sun, Apr 21

47-50

Thu, Apr 25

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Sun, Apr 28

NO CLASS: US Festival

Thu, May 2

50-54

Sun, May 5

54-58

Thu, May 9

58-63

Sun, May 12

65-68

Thu, May 16

Group discussion
47-68

Sun, May 19

68-71

Thu, May 23

71-74

Sun, May 26

NO CLASS: Memorial Day weekend

Thu, May 30

76-81

Sun, Jun 2

81-84

Thu, Jun 6

Group discussion
68-84

Sun, Jun 9

NO CLASS: Wyoming Retreat

Thu, Jun 13

84-86

Sun, Jun 16

87-93

Thu, Jun 20

93-96

Sun, Jun 23

97-103

Thu, Jun 27

Group discussion
84-103

Sun, Jun 30

Review Class

Thu, Jul 4

No Class

Sun, Jul 7

Review Class

Thu, Jul 11

Review Class

Sun, Jul 14

Exam, 4:00 to 7:00 pm


Cost and Registration

To register, please see Tim Salemno or email him at info@meditateinfortcollins.org

Cost for Foundation Program is to be a Supporting Member, which is $60/month, and includes half-price or free access to all events at Heruka Buddhist Center, see the Supporting Member page for details.

If you would like to pay you dues here, you may.

Foundation Program is also available via correspondence, for those who live at a distance or would have other obstacles to attending. Please contact Tim Salemno for details.

  Quantity:

Names of attendees:

(other notes are OK as well)


Credit/debit cards work too!

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra, Part II

The New Heart of Wisdom: An Explanation of the Heart Sutra, Part II

Sunday 4:00-6:00pm
Thursday 6:30-8:30pm

Study The New Heart of Wisdom on Foundation Program!

  • Understand the relationship between our mind and our world
  • A special method for overcoming difficulties in daily life
  • Removing obstacles to realizing our full potential

The very heart of Buddha's teachings are the Perfection of Wisdom Sutras. Study together Venerable Geshe Kelsang Gyatso's commentary to the Heart Sutra, also known as the Essence of Wisdom Sutra. In Part II of The New Heart of Wisdom, we will study the hidden meaning of the Heart Sutra, which is the stages of the path to enlightenment!

Those who wish to engage in this program should begin by consistently attending the drop-in classes on Wednesday or Sunday. If this is not possible, then you may wish to discuss with Gen Rinzin.

Foundation Program is a study and meditation program specially designed to help us take the teachings deep into our heart--to increase our Dharma experience and wisdom. Students undertake to read the material before class. Then Gen Rinzin gives the oral transmission of the text and additional commentary. We then discuss and decide how to practice the meaning until the next class. Then, to start the next class, we meditate on what we've studied and practiced. All together, we study, listen, discuss, practice, and finally meditate on the teachings. Through this we can expect to gain practical understanding and experience of Buddha's teachings.

Class schedule
Thu, Aug 22

Twelve sources

Sun, Aug 25

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Thu, Aug 29

Eighteen elements

Sun, Sep 1

NO CLASS: Labor Day

Thu, Sep 5

Twelve dependent-related links

Sun, Sep 8

Twelve dependent-related links, continued

Thu, Sep 12

Group discussion

Sun, Sep 15

Special Class: Explanation of the Wheel of Life

Thu, Sep 19

Video of the Wheel of Life

Thu, Oct 10

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Sun, Oct 13

Preliminary Explanation, 107-113

Thu, Oct 17

Arya Asanga, 113-117

Sun, Oct 20

The preciousness of our human life

Thu, Oct 24

What does our death mean?

Sun, Oct 27

The dangers of lower rebirth

Thu, Oct 31

Group discussion

Sun, Nov 3

Going for Refuge

Thu, Nov 7

What is karma?

Sun, Nov 10

Offering to the Spiritual Guide

Thu, Nov 14

What we should know

Sun, Nov 17

What we should know, continued

Thu, Nov 21

What we should abandon

Sun, Nov 24

Group discussion

Thu, Nov 28

Thanksgiving Potluck & Video of the Life of Buddha

Sun, Dec 1

No Class: Mountain Retreat

Thu, Dec 5

What we should practice

Sun, Dec 8

What we should attain

Thu, Dec 12

Training in affectionate love

Sun, Dec 15

The kindness of living beings

Thu, Dec 19

Group Discussion

Sun, Jan 5

Equalizing self and others

Thu, Jan 9

Contemplating the disadvantages of self-cherishing

Sun, Jan 12

Contemplating the advantages of cherishing others

Thu, Jan 16

Training in wishing love

Sun, Jan 19

Training in universal compassion

Thu, Jan 23

Group Discussion

Sun, Jan 26

Training in actual bodhichitta

Thu, Jan 30

Training in the six perfections

Sun, Feb 2

Training in taking in conjunction with the six perfections

Thu, Feb 6

Training in giving in conjunction with the six perfections

Sun, Feb 9

Group Discussion

Thu, Feb 13

Review class

Sun, Feb 16

Review class

Thu, Feb 20

Review class

Sun, Feb 23

Exam, 4:00 to 7:00 pm


Cost and Registration

To register, please see Tim Salemno or email him at info@meditateinfortcollins.org

Cost for Foundation Program is to be a Supporting Member, which is $60/month, and includes half-price or free access to all events at Heruka Buddhist Center, see the Supporting Member page for details.

If you would like to pay you dues here, you may.

Foundation Program is also available via correspondence, for those who live at a distance or would have other obstacles to attending. Please contact Tim Salemno for details.

  Quantity:

Names of attendees:

(other notes are OK as well)


Credit/debit cards work too!


Location ~ Fort Collins  

Heruka Buddhist Center

149 W Harvard St, Suite 102
Fort Collins, CO 80525

Tips on getting here

We are just off of College Ave. Harvard is two lights north of the mall, or the first light south of Drake. Go west one block to McClelland, turn south, and then immediately turn into the parking lot.

NOTE: Parking is on the south side of the building, and entrance is not from Harvard St., but McClelland Dr.



Fort Collins ~ Heruka Buddhist Center